The county treasurer is responsible for the following duties:
  • Collection of property tax payments
  • Distribution of property tax payments to the taxing districts
  • Investment of county funds
  • Maintaining correct and proper accounting of all county monies
  • Mailing property tax statements to taxpayers
  • Receiving all money and payments sent to Summit County

Treasurer's Office Fees

The Treasurer's Office collects fees for its services, as set by Colorado State Statute. View the Treasurer fees

About the Treasurer's Office

Article XIV, Section 8 of the Constitution of the State of Colorado is the authority by which the treasurer operates. Activities of the office are directed by the Legislature of the State of Colorado through the Statutes. The treasurer is an elected official, serving a four-year term of office. The treasurer is also the public trustee.