Animal Shelter Volunteer Program

We have an active volunteer program and are always seeking more people who would like to give of their time to the animals. Volunteers are a great asset to the shelter as they give that extra attention and do activities that are needed while a shelter animal awaits its new home. Such activities include dog walking, supervising dog play groups, playing with cats, grooming, and general socializing with the shelter animals.


In order to become a volunteer you need to:
  • Be at least 14 years old
  • Attend a 1 hour volunteer orientation
  • Attend a 25 minute cat class to volunteer with cats
  • Attend a 55 minute dog class to volunteer with dogs
Boy with Ferret.png

The following are the dates for the upcoming Volunteer Orientation Classes: 
Saturday  March 24, 2018
Wednesday April 18, 2018
Saturday April 28, 201822
Saturday May 12, 2018
Wednesday May 23, 2018
Saturday June 9, 2018
Wednesday June 20, 2018
Wednesday July 11, 2018
Saturday July 28, 2018
Saturday August 11, 2018
Wednesday August 22, 2018
Wednesday September 12, 2018
Saturday September 22, 2018

Class times are as follows:
General Orientation:  10-10:30 AM
Dog Class:  10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Cat Class:  12:00 PM - 12:30 PM 
   Please bring a photo ID if you are 18 or older. 

*Bring a snack, lunch and something to drink if attending all three classes.
*Please sign up at the front desk if you plan to attend.
*If you have signed up and are unable to attend, please call to notify the volunteer coordinator (970-668-4197) or the shelter (970-668-3230).
*Please wear appropriate clothing for the Dog Class as we will be walking dogs outside.


Kaitlyn Wertz and Otis jumping